Covid-19 border restrictions

Covid-19 Restrictions for popular Swagman destinations

This information changes often, is indicative in nature & cannot be guaranteed after 7 June 2020

AUSTRALIA – International travel ban in place until further notice. No outbound travel permitted unless with exemption permits from Department if Home Affairs. Limited domestic travel permitted: each state has a different policy and some quarantine measures are still in place. Failure to practise social distancing may incur a $1641 fine.

We derive great encouragement from the Tourism Task Force Recovery Schedule published in late May by The Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry , with travel proposed to recommence as follows:
*  NZ/Pacific ‘bubble’ – from Jul 2020
* Selected ‘safe’ countries from 15 Sep 2020
* Rest of the world from 15 Dec 2020


Argentina – Argentina has closed its borders, including all airports and sea ports, until further notice. Buenos Aires & regional lockdowns to be reviewed 7 Jun 2020.

Botswana – Borders closed to tourists until further notice.

Chile – Chile has closed its borders to foreign nationals, unless you’re a permanent residentYou can transit through Santiago Airport, but you cannot pass through immigration.

Ethiopia – Airports are open but land borders are closed. Arriving passengers will be screened for Ebola virus AND have to self-quarantine for 14 days.

India – The issuing of tourist visas and banning of international flights until further notice is preventing entry of potential tourists.

Kenya – Extension of regional movement restrictions & night curfews 9pm-4am til 7 July. The borders with Tanzania and Somalia are closed. You’re required to wear a face mask in public.

Maldives – Borders closed to Australians until further notice.

Mauritius – Borders remain closed. All cruise ships will be denied access to the port. Any travellers allowed to enter Mauritius are required to undertake a COVID-19 test before the flight.

Mozambique – Borders are open but you need to self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival. Regional travel restrictions in place.

Namibia – Borders remain closed until further notice.

New Zealand – If you’re an Australian usually residing in New Zealand you can return, but you’ll be required to isolate for 14 days in either quarantine or a managed isolation facility on arrival.

Peru – Peru is in quarantine and its borders are closed. There are strict local curfews.

Oman – Flights and cruise ships are currently banned from entering Oman.

Papua New Guinea – PNG has declared a State of Emergency & closed its borders to foreign travellers.

Qatar – Australians, including those with a residency permit, are not allowed to enter Qatar, however, Australians continue to be able to transit though & depart from Qatar.

Rwanda – All borders remain closed except to cargo, Rwandan citizens and legal residents. Movement restrictions in place; curfew 9pm-5am; & face masks at all times.

South Africa – Inbound travel banned. Provincial domestic travel, & some inter-province travel due to employment, permitted.

Sri Lanka – Borders are currently closed but plan to open 1 Aug 2020. Tourists must hold PCR test results not older then 3 days, will be subjected to testing on arrival into Sri Lanka, & during their stay. Positive results will lead to quarantine. No public transport allowed.

Tanzania – Tourists may enter. Travel at your own risk:  avoid Dar Es Salaam, wear a face mask in densely populated environments & ensure high level personal regard for sanitisation.

Uganda – International borders are closed. Night curfews are still in place. Savannah parks are open from 5 Jun 2020 for domestic tourism but Primate Parks remain closed.

United Arab Emirates – open for international transit only, no holiday visitors.

Zambia – Tourist visas cancelled. Borders open but expect mandatory testing & 14-day quarantine (at own cost in govt faacility) on arrival .

Zimbabwe – Borders closed. Domestic travel encouraged but wear face masks.